Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Decent IDE for C

1. May 5, 2013 #1
    I'm fairly new to C. Learning it for my school, but my fluency is mainly in Python and Java.

For Python the standard IDLE (Python GUI) works fine and Eclipse does the job for me in Java. I've been trying to find a good IDE for C.

So far I found the following:
    Notepad++ : Very good editing abilities, tabs, line-numbers, highlighting etc.
    Quincy: Compiler included, fair editing
    C-Free: Compiler included, fair editing

To those who have experience with several environments for C, what is the best one to use for C? I am looking for one that has a very convenient source code editor, decent compiler that does not crash the actual shell window during a stack overflow or runtime exception (and gives you a chance to evaluate the problem) and hopefully shows line numbers and highlights keywords.

It's ok if no such program exists, but if it does exist and someone here knows about it, do let me know! Thanks!!

BiP

2. jcsd
  3. May 5, 2013 #2

rcgldr

Homework Helper

If you're running with windows, microsoft visual C++ express is free, and it has a good source level debugger.

4. May 5, 2013 #3

phinds

Gold Member
    2016 Award

Visual Studio is as good as it gets --- all you could want and more. Two drawbacks though. It's not free (cheap for students though) and it's Microsoft proprietary.

5. May 5, 2013 #4

rcgldr

Homework Helper

The "express" versions are free, and the full version (multiple languages) for students are cheap.

6. May 5, 2013 #5

nsaspook

Science Advisor

7. May 5, 2013 #6