1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Deriving a volume formula, answer seems to be correct but is negative.

1. Jul 20, 2014 #1
    I'm an engineering student, and I'm making a formula for the volume of liquid in a cylinder that is cut in half diagonally. r is the radius, h is the height from the bottom to the top of the sloped flat bottom, and L is the height of the water within the cylinder. So when L = h you would expect the formula to be equal to h∏r^(2)/2.

z bar is the plane defining the bottom where the cylinder is "cut." It was derived using the points (-r,0,0), (r,0,h) and (0,r,h/2) so it passes through the xy plane at x = -r and touches h at x = r.

y bar is the standard equation for half a circle with radius r

a is the x value of the rightmost edge of the liquid as the tank is filled.

[itex]v = 2\int_{-r}^{a}\int_{0}^{\bar{y}}\int_{\bar{z}}^{h}dzdydx[/itex]

[itex]\bar{z} = \frac{hx}{2r}+\frac{h}{2}[/itex]

[itex]\bar{y} = \sqrt{r^{2}-x^{2}}[/itex]

[itex]a = \frac{2rL}{h}-r[/itex]

Solving leads to the following formula:

[itex]v = \frac{r^{2}h*arcsin(a/r)}{2}+\frac{ha\sqrt{r^{2}-a^{2}}}{2}-\frac{3\pi r^{2}h}{4}+\frac{h(r^{2}-a^{2})^{3/2}}{3r}[/itex]

[itex]a = \frac{2rL}{h}-r[/itex]

It's much simpler the leave a as a separate equation, solve for a and then enter it into the larger equation. If this formula were correct, you would expect it to equal zero when L equals zero, which it does. You would also expect it to equal h∏r^(2)/2 when L = h except it equals the negative of that. I've worked hard on this and am trying to get it right. Is something wrong with my setup? Thanks.

Last edited: Jul 20, 2014
  2. jcsd
  3. Jul 22, 2014 #2

verty

Homework Helper