A Deriving an inequality from a paper

Hi, I am studying a paper by Yann Bugeaud:

on page 13 there is an inequality (16) as given below-

which is obtained from -

, on page 12.

How the inequality (16) is derived? I couldn't figure it out. However one of my forum member

tried but it has two problems (problems are marked as "how?"), it is given below-

It is not clear how those two questions would be resolved.

Can any one show the derivation of inequality (16)?

Thanks in Advance.

Last edited by a moderator:
Are you missing the latex or images for the equations of interest in your post?

I see gaps but no equations.

POSTSCRIPT: I also had to edit your post to make the link more explicit. We sometimes get posts like this that are actually spam with hidden links.

fresh_42

Mentor
Insights Author
2018 Award
Multiplying it leads to the question whether
$$
\left|\dfrac{\beta^m}{\gamma^n} \cdot \dfrac{\gamma-\delta}{\alpha-\beta}- \dfrac{\delta^n}{\gamma^n} \right| \ll \dfrac{1}{\alpha^{\eta(m-1)}}
$$
given ##\alpha \geq \gamma \geq |\delta|^{1+\eta}\, , \,\alpha \geq |\beta|^{1+\eta}##.

Are there additional relations by the fact that ##(\alpha,\beta)## and ##(\gamma,\delta)## are Lucas pairs?
An idea could be to write the left hand side as a power series in ##\alpha## and estimate the coefficients.

Are you missing the latex or images for the equations of interest in your post?

I see gaps but no equations.

POSTSCRIPT: I also had to edit your post to make the link more explicit. We sometimes get posts like this that are actually spam with hidden links.
I used Image from paper.

Are there additional relations by the fact that ##(\alpha,\beta)## and ##(\gamma,\delta)## are Lucas pairs?
An idea could be to write the left hand side as a power series in ##\alpha## and estimate the coefficients.
I tried, two other persons tried, see the last image, but failed to get the result, Plz help.

fresh_42

Mentor
Insights Author
2018 Award