1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Deriving Equation of Reduced Mass W/ Angular Momentum

1. Nov 12, 2013 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data

Derive m*= mM/(m+M) *hint* total angular momentum Iω=m*r2ω equals the sum of the individual angular momenta, where r = re + rn; re and rn are the distances of the electron and nucleus respectively from the center of mass.

2. Relevant equations

Angular Momentum = mvr
    Conservation of Angular momenta
    m=mass of electron
    M=mass of nucleus
    3. The attempt at a solution

m*r2ω = m(re)2ω + M(rn)2ω

I write out this equation but algebraically I can't seem to solve for m* properly so I must be missing something :/ sorry about the notation in the equation I am still learning how to properly use the tools in the message figure.

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 12, 2013 #2

gneill

Staff: Mentor

Write expressions for re and rn in terms of r, given that they are determined by the location of the center of mass.

4. Nov 12, 2013 #3
    So like m*r2ω = m(r-rn)^2 ω + M(r-re)^2 ω ?

5. Nov 12, 2013 #4

gneill

Forget the angular velocity for the moment. The distances re and rn from the center of mass can be determined entirely by the masses and the total separation r.

Given m and M and r, what are those distances?

6. Nov 13, 2013 #5
    I have no idea :/ my guess is it has something to do with the gravitation equations. But I never took anything with this in first year because I was in engineering :/ not the normal physics stream.

7. Nov 13, 2013 #6

gneill

I think that if you've done engineering you can find the center of mass given two objects and their separation. What's the distance of each from that center of mass?

8. Nov 13, 2013 #7