Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Deriving formula for MA of differential windlass

1. Oct 31, 2014 #1
    Hi,

I am trying to find an equation that would give the mechanical advantage of this system:

L-differentialwinde.png

I am fairly new to this kind of analysis, but my understanding is that to determine the MA I need to consider that:

[tex]W_{in} = W_{out}[/tex]

[tex]F_{in} d_{in} = F_{out} d_{out}[/tex]

[tex]F_{out} / F_{in} = d_{in} / d_{out} = MA[/tex]

So all I need to do to determine the mechanical advantage is to find the ratio of the distances of the applied and effort forces.

d_in:

The crank and large drum act as a wheel and axle, so the distance the large drum travels per full revolution of the crank shaft is:

[tex]\frac{r_{large \, drum}}{r_{crank}}[/tex]

d_out

The movable pulley is going to rise a distance that equals one half the difference in circumferences between the large and small drum:

[tex]\pi(r_{large \, drum} - r_{small \, drum})[/tex]

Which give a rough mechanical advantage (ignoring the levers created by the crank) of:

[tex] 2 \times \frac{r_{large \, drum}}{\pi r_{crank}(r_{large \, drum} - r_{small \, drum})}[/tex]

I have some concerns though, the main one being that this is different from the only equation I could find online, which is:

[tex]\frac{2 \, r_{crank}}{r_{large \, drum} - r_{small \, drum}}[/tex]

Is my analysis correct or have I missed something? Also, if anyone could tell me why the pulley moves only one half the difference between the two radii and not the full difference between the two I would really appreciate it.

Thanks!

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 31, 2014 #2
    I've thought about it some more and I think I've got it. This complex machine can be broken up into three simple machines: the movable pulley, the wheel and axle, and the rope wrapped around the two drums.