1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Difficult optimal cable cost analysis

1. Feb 1, 2013 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data

http://snag.gy/z4LzZ.jpg

I was going through some old course work from when I was an undergrad and was unable to complete this one. If you could just provide me with the proper approach/steps it would be much appreciated. I know how to solve all of the tensions, but the cost analysis approach is confusing me.

Thanks

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 1, 2013 #2

tiny-tim

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

hi algar32! :wink:
    you should get an expression for the length, and an expression for the tension

multiply them together, that gives you the cost (as a function of x y and z, the coordinates of B)

then minimise it, probably using calculus …

show us what you get :smile:

4. Feb 1, 2013 #3
    How do I get an expression for length and an expression for tension? That is the part I am struggling with. Also, if I make the tension expression won't it have 2 variables in it? How can I handle that if I am trying to rref it? Any further steps/work would be appreciated.Thanks.

5. Feb 1, 2013 #4

SteamKing

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

Well, the expression for the length is going to be a function of the unknown x and z position of the point B. You may not know what else if you don't write some equations.

6. Feb 1, 2013 #5
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2013
  7. Feb 2, 2013 #6

tiny-tim

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

?? :confused:

can you type it out, please?​

8. Feb 2, 2013 #7