Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Direction of force acting on a body in uniform circular motion?

1. May 13, 2013 #1
    Direction of force acting on a body in uniform circular motion??

Hello Sir/Ma'am
    I'm a a novice. I joined this forum to clear my doubts and improve my physics. Here is my question.. " We generally say, frictional force always acts in a direction, opposite to the direction of motion of a body. Is there any case where it acts in a different direction?? For example, if a car is moving around a pole at a uniform speed (uniform circular motion), the friction is acting towards the centre (also called centrepetal force). And we know that the direction of motion of the car at any point is along the tangent i.e perpendicular to the radius. So,
    1) Is it correct to say that here, direction of friction is perpendicular to the direction of motion of the body???
    2) And should i conclude that direction of friction force doesn't always need to be opposite to the direction of motion of the body??
    3) are there any other cases where direction of friction is not opposite to the direction of motion of the body?? Two cases i know of are walking and riding a bike. Any other cases??
    Sir, this is not a homework question. Kindly dont delete it. It is something which i can't understand. Thanks!!

2. jcsd
  3. May 13, 2013 #2

Simon Bridge

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member
    2016 Award

Welcome to PF;

YOu should be careful about real world objects like cars - they have lots of forces acting on them - many of them friction.
    The net force in uniform circular motion points to the center (in an inertial frame).
    The only source of this force is the contact between the road and the tires.
    This is friction. Therefore...

You should conclude whatever you can support with evidence. I won't tell you what to think.