Do any of you use Linux? If so, which distribution?

In summary: Fedora. I like Fedora the best, but I've also had good experiences with Ubuntu and OpenSuse.In summary, linux is a widely used Operating System that many people find to be more user friendly than Windows. Some distributions are more user friendly than others, but all offer a well-balanced environment. It is important to read The Linux Command Line before attempting to use Linux, as there are many hidden intricacies involved.
StatGuy2000
Education Advisor
Hi everyone. I've been considering switching out of using a Windows laptop in favour of Linux. What I'm curious of is do any of you here on PF use the Linux OS. If so, which distribution do you use (Ubuntu, Fedora, etc.)? What has been your experience using Linux?

Appreciate any insights any of you may have.

Likes S.G. Janssens
Computer science news on Phys.org
I have been using Linux for about 15 years now and since the Winter of 2005 I use it exclusively. For me, it is a delight because a lot of the software I use (e.g. ##\LaTeX##, compilers, shells and newer programming languages such as Julia) is easily installed, kept up-to-date and put to work in harmony. However, my dear mom (who knows nothing about computers) also uses Linux (although she is probably unaware of it) and it let's her do all her everyday computer tasks: surfing the web, typing email and documents, playing media, making a photo album etc.

In the early 2000s Linux was a lot less user friendly than it is now, particularly because setting up devices required more work. I feel that presently installing and operating Linux is not more complicated than installing and using any of the other two mainstream systems. For this latter statement to hold, I assume that one installs one of the more user friendly distributions.