Doubts and Unease: Physics Articles Troubling Ben

• Thread starter The Binary Monster
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Doubts
In summary: I am a trained physicist and I can understand where you are coming from. You are concerned about certain ideas in physics, such as the Higgs Boson and Dark Energy, that seem outlandish and not in line with existing theories. You suggest that scientists should focus more on refining and working with the current theories rather than coming up with new, outlandish ideas. You also mention that science is about probabilities and building upon past successes. However, you also acknowledge that finding the Higgs Boson or proving the existence of Dark Energy would be a huge triumph and provide evidence that we are on the right track. In summary, you express concerns about certain ideas in physics but also recognize the importance of pushing the boundaries and making new discoveries.
The Binary Monster
I'd like to preface this by saying that I have limited knowledge in physics, and have not even studied it to degree level yet. But still, bare with me.

I have recently found that I find myself with growing unease whilst browsing the Internet or through my weekly New Scientist subscription... There seem to be a growing number of physics articles which trouble me, and I cannot help but feeling something is wrong somewhere.