Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Effect of temperature on Entropy

1. Jul 29, 2011 #1
    i'm a pre-U student, and i came across this when i study the topic on entropy

dS = dQ / T

i understand that as temperature increases, entropy increases as well, as there are more quanta of energy and more thermal states(energy levels) available.

however according to this equation, it seems to indicate that with a lower temperature, we can get a greater entropy?

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 29, 2011 #2
    Re: how temperature affect entropy

S is entropy. dS is change in entropy.
    So, for a given temperature T, the change in entropy is equal to the change in heat energy divided by whatever the temperature that system is currently in.

4. Jul 29, 2011 #3

Mapes

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member

The equation you wrote describes the infinitesimal increase in entropy of a system at constant temperature when infinitesimal energy is added reversibly by heating. That's not the same as the change in entropy of a system with increasing temperature, which is [itex]\partial S/\partial T[/itex]. This quantity is, indeed, always positive.

You can integrate your equation to get [itex]\Delta S=Q\ln(T_2/T_1)[/itex], which confirms that entropy increases with temperature when a system is heated.

Does this make sense?

5. Jul 29, 2011 #4
    You get a larger change in entropy, that's correct.

ETA - I figured that constant temperature and reversibility were givens, considering the Clausius formalism used by the OP. (Although that dQ should be dQrev, which is how I recall seeing it written in textbooks.)