Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Electric car(a graduation project)

1. Aug 15, 2007 #1

Tee

Hi all , i'm in my final year in college and for my graduation project , I wanted to make an electric car (not make it actually , we(me and my friends) will convert a gasoline motor based car into an electric one , but i don't know where to begin or what knowledge basis i should have before starting , or even if this idea is suitable for the graduation project , so i was hoping i can get some expert views here , thanks in advance and your replies are much appreciated.

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 15, 2007 #2

chroot

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

This is an absolutely enormous undertaking. It'll probably cost you $50k and some 10 man-years of work. If you have the resources and time, I can give you some options for starting the project.

- Warren

Last edited: Aug 15, 2007
  4. Aug 15, 2007 #3

berkeman

Staff: Mentor

Here's one of my undergrad engineering school's electric vehicle projects (actually a plug-in hybrid project and competition):

http://www.team-fate.net/

As chroot says, building an electric vehicle is pretty expensive. Even if you have a donated car to start with, the batteries and motors alone will set you back a lot of money. Maybe you can build a Segway instead?

http://www.segway.com/

5. Aug 15, 2007 #4

chroot

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

6. Aug 16, 2007 #5

Tee