1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Engineering Physics vs. Applied Physics

Tags:
  1. Aug 15, 2014 #1
    Hi all,

I'm currently an undergraduate going into my third year enrolled in a 3/2 dual degree physics/engineering program at a state school in Wisconsin. This will be my last year studying physics and I will then transfer over to UW-Madison to study nuclear engineering. I am particularly interested in nuclear reactors, but I love physics and, more broadly, research. Physics is just slightly too academic for me, I want to work on understanding and solving a societal problem to better the world. I'm going on my third year of nuclear physics research as well. That being said I have full intentions on pursuing a PhD.

My question is, what is really the difference between applied physics and engineering physics? UW-Madison has a solid Nuclear Engineering & Engineering Physics PhD program that I am hoping to pursue if I am not accepted to a school ranked a little higher (MIT, CalTech, Cornell etc.). I quickly read a similar forum on here that mentioned applied physics is "physics in the world" and engineering physics is "applied physics dealing with construction".

Is this correct? And if so, well, what does that really even mean? What are the main differences in the type of research the positions would do?

Appreciative of all responses, thanks!

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 16, 2014 #2
    Ranked higher? University of Wisconsin is a great school, especially for nuclear engineering. But to answer you question I think you should just stick with nuclear engineering given that you said physics is too academic for you, engineering physics is also an option

4. Aug 16, 2014 #3

Astronuc

Staff: Mentor