Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Expressing electric field in cylindrical coordinates.

1. Mar 6, 2015 #1
    Hi everyone, I am new to the physics forums and I need your help :)

I understand that depending on the symmetry of the problem, it may be easier to change the coordinate system you are using. My question is, how would I convert the electric field due to a point charge at the origin, from Cartesian coordinates to cylindrical ones?

I am using the equation [tex] E = \frac{q}{4\pi\epsilon_0}\frac{(r-r')}{(r-r')^3}[/tex]

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 6, 2015 #2
    If you want to exploit symmetry use spherical coordinates, not cylindrical. If you are in love with cylindrical coordinates :P , then look up on http://mathworld.wolfram.com/CylindricalCoordinates.html the relationships between the unit vectors in cartesian coordinates to cylindrical and the relationship each variable has. Once this is done, you just simply have to use grandiose algebra.

So far the only time i've used cylindrical coordinates when working with electric fields is when I'm considering an infinite rod with charges inside it and want to calculate the electric field generated by it in the exterior space.

Last edited: Mar 7, 2015
  4. Mar 6, 2015 #3
    I am in love with cylindrical coordinates :P No I joke, I just want to practice using them.
    I have seen those relationships before, in fact I went through the derivation, so I think I understand them. Where I'm confused is how to apply them to the E field formula. Since we have only r showing up in the formula, do I need to transform only this variable?

5. Mar 7, 2015 #4
    ##\mathbf{E}=\frac{kq}{x^2+y^2+z^2} * (\frac{x \mathbf{i} + y \mathbf{j} + z \mathbf{k}}{\sqrt{x^2+y^2+z^2}})##
    ##=\frac{kq}{(x^2+y^2+z^2)^{3/2}} * (x \mathbf{i} + y \mathbf{j} + z \mathbf{k})##