Find the interval of convergence.

In summary, the homework question involves finding the interval of convergence for the series \sum n^(1/2)*x^n where n=1 and goes to infinity. The student attempted to use the Ratio Test and got the absolute value of x as the answer. They now need to check if the endpoints (-1,1) converge by treating it as an alternating series and using the absolute value test for divergence. They also discuss the series \sum x^n/n^3 where n=1 and goes to infinity, and conclude that it converges absolutely.
Sabricd

Homework Statement

[tex]\sum[/tex] n^(1/2)*x^n where n=1 and goes to infinity.

Sorry, I'm new at this. I was kind of hoping to get help finding the interval of convergence.
After using the Ratio Test I got for an answer the absolute value of x. I know I have to prove whether or not the endpoints (-1,1) converge or not. Can I just treat it as an alternating series and apply its absolute value and test for divergence?

Physics news on Phys.org
So basically, you'll need to check if the series

[tex]\sum{\sqrt{n}}~\text{and}~\sum{(-1)^n\sqrt{n}}[/tex]

converge. Does the sequence [tex]\sqrt{n}[/tex] converge to 0? What can you conclude from this?

Well if I take the limit of it and if the limit = 0 then it is convergent. If not, it is divergent, correct?

So I could basically take the absolute value and say that it diverges by the Test of Divergence...right?

You can only say, if it doesn't converge to 0, then our serie is divergent.
If it does converge to 0, then you have to apply another test.

Sabricd said:
So I could basically take the absolute value and say that it diverges by the Test of Divergence...right?

right!

Thank you!

How about [tex]\sum[/tex] x^n/n^3 where n=1 and goes to infinity. I know the radius for convergence is 1. However, I have to prove whether the endpoints (-1, 1) converge. Hence, would the answer be no, it diverges since x does not have a limit?

You'll need to see whether the series