1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Finding final velocity with variable acceleration due to air resistance

1. Nov 20, 2012 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data

Hello! This is my first time posting here but I have been viewing these forums for help in my physics class for a while. Lately I have been stuck on one single problem that I haven’t been able to find any help with anywhere online. Any who, here is the problem: a cat jumps out of a 10m tall window with all its velocity in the X direction. He has a mass of 8.17kg, a drag coefficient of .8, and a cross sectional area of 600cm^2. What is his final velocity if you do NOT ignore air resistance?

2. Relevant equations

I determined, knowing the density of air to be 1.2 @ 20 C, that the cats terminal velocity would be around 52m/s. From here I solved for a drag or wind resistance constant, b, by taking the mass times gravity divided by terminal velocity (b=1.5). I also know that velocity at any time can be determined with the equation V=(mg)/b{1-e^[(-bt)/m]} where m is mass, g is gravity, b is the constant from above, and t is time. The problem is that I cannot find time with the variable acceleration due to gravity. My professor suggested using the concept of jerk but I haven’t been able to find any formulas that can help me out.

3. The attempt at a solution (attempt included in relevant equations)

Thanks in advance for any help!

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 20, 2012 #2

TSny

Homework Helper
    Gold Member

Hello on your first post to PF!