For someone wanting to work in astronomy

In summary, if you have an interest in astronomy and are willing to put in the effort, a Astrophysics degree is a good way to go. However, you may not get as much flexibility in your career path as you would with a degree in Physics.
dros
For someone wanting to work in astronomy...

...is an Astrophysics degree the way to go or should I go with Physics? I'm a first-year undergrad who sort of spent the past semester and a half thinking I'd be a History major. I have a strong interest in astronomy and would love to work in the field. After realizing that History wasn't "for me" (and lacking in career paths) I considered taking up a physics/astrophysics degree. Just as a note, I am aware that these programs are math-intensive, but I am willing to put in the effort. I have no aversion to math and performed well in my high school algebra and precalculus classes.

From what I have heard, Astrophysics is not as flexible as Physics as far as getting non-scientific jobs goes (for instance, in case something goes wrong and I have to look for a job outside of physics).
This of course ignores that the "Professional Physics" and "Astrophysics" programs at my university are almost identical in course load.

I'm aware that in order to get into a serious position as a researcher I would need a MS and PhD, but I'd still like to know where to start.

Thank you, and I'm sorry if you get a ton of these questions.

Physics news on Phys.org

Well I'm not in college yet, but I would say start taking the base level math and physics required. Get your feet wet in a few areas, decide what feels right. And if latter on you decide to change you will have the option being as the court requirements are very similar.

course not court

Yeah, that's a good point since the courses don't even change until the 3rd year or so, and even then it's not that significant of a change.

What about majoring in Physics and minoring in Astronomy?