Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Fourier series question (Interested Beginner)

1. Jan 7, 2007 #1
    Hi there,
    I am a music student and have no math background whatsoever but was wondering if you guys could help me with something that I read in a book on signal processing. I want to create a periodic waveform that is described by the following fourier series http://dsp-bg.info/files/example_119.jpg. I would like to know how to figure out different values of f with f1 being the fundamental frequency, for example I want to be able to calculate the values for f1+ f2+ f3...+n ect. I have been given the amplitude values (An) of N=8 already but need the frequency components (f1 ect) in order to generate the waveform. I am pretty ignorant in this area so If I have not been clear in my question I apologise in advance. Hope someone can help. Thanks,B.

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 7, 2007 #2
    I am not really sure what you want. Your frequencies f1, f2, ..., fN would just be integral multiple of your fundamental frequency i.e. f1, 2f1, ... Nf1, respectively.

Last edited: Jan 7, 2007
  4. Jan 7, 2007 #3