Fourier transform of a differential equation

In summary, for the given partial differential equation with a spatial Fourier transform, the solution involves taking the transform of both sides and using the rule for transforming second order derivatives. This leads to a differential equation involving the transformed function \phi and a troublesome term involving the transformed product of p and x.
AxiomOfChoice

Homework Statement

I'm supposed to take the "spatial Fourier transform" of the partial differential equation

[tex]
p_t = \frac{a^2}{2\tau}p_{xx} + 2g(p + xp_x)
[/tex]

for [itex]p = p(x,t)[/itex].

Homework Equations

Well, I guess I eventually need something like

[tex]
\phi(k,t) = \mathbb F(p(x,t)) = \frac{1}{\sqrt{2\pi}} \int_{-\infty}^{\infty} p(x,t) e^{-ikx}\ dx.
[/tex]

The Attempt at a Solution

I've never done anything like this before, so I'm really not sure what to do. I think if I get a few hints or a gentle nudge in the right direction, I'll be good to go, though.

I'm guessing that I should take the spatial Fourier transform [itex]\mathbb F[/itex] of both sides. So the LHS would become

[tex]
\mathbb F(p_t) = \frac{1}{\sqrt{2 \pi}} \int \frac{\partial p}{\partial t}e^{-ikx}dx = \frac{1}{\sqrt{2 \pi}} \frac{\partial}{\partial t} \int p(x,t) e^{-ikx}dx = \phi_t.
[/tex]

Is this right?

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
And then I guess we can use the rule that

[tex]
\mathbb F(p_{xx}) = -k^2 \mathbb F(p)
[/tex]

to conclude that the transform of the first term on the RHS is just

[tex]
-\frac{a^2k^2}{2\tau} \phi.
[/tex]

So, at the end of the day, our differential equation becomes

[tex]
\phi_t = -\frac{a^2k^2}{2\tau} \phi + 2g(\phi + \mathbb F(xp_x)).
[/tex]

That last term on the right is giving me fits!

1. What is the Fourier transform of a differential equation?