How can the error function be used to solve this integral?

In summary, The conversation is about a computer scientist seeking help with solving an integral involving a Gaussian function and a given function. They discuss using the error function and integration by parts to solve the integral.
astralmeme
Greetings,

I am a computer scientist revisiting integration after a long time. I am stuck with this simple-looking integral that's turning out to be quite painful (to me). I was wondering if one of you could help.

The goal is to solve the integral

[tex]
\int_{0}^{\infty} e^{-(x - t)^2/2 \sigma^2} x^n\ dx .
[/tex]

Note that this is the convolution of the Gaussian centered around 0 with the function that equals $x^n$ for $x > 0$, and 0 elsewhere (modulo scaling).

In particular, I would be interested in seeing any relationship with the integral

[tex]
\int_{-\infty}^{\infty} e^{-(x - t)^2/2 \sigma^2} x^n\ dx .
[/tex]

which I have worked out.

Any suggestions?

Thanks in advance,
Swar

Physics news on Phys.org
If n is odd, that can be done by letting [itex]u= -(x-\mu)^2/(2\sigma^2)[/itex]. If x is even, try integration by parts, letting [itex]u= x^{n-1}[/itex], [itex]dv= xe^{-(x-\mu)^2/(2\sigma^2)}[/itex] to reduce it to n odd.

astralmeme said:
Greetings,

I am a computer scientist revisiting integration after a long time. I am stuck with this simple-looking integral that's turning out to be quite painful (to me). I was wondering if one of you could help.

The goal is to solve the integral

[tex]
\int_{0}^{\infty} e^{-(x - t)^2/2 \sigma^2} x^n\ dx .
[/tex]

Note that this is the convolution of the Gaussian centered around 0 with the function that equals $x^n$ for $x > 0$, and 0 elsewhere (modulo scaling).

In particular, I would be interested in seeing any relationship with the integral

[tex]
\int_{-\infty}^{\infty} e^{-(x - t)^2/2 \sigma^2} x^n\ dx .
[/tex]

which I have worked out.

Any suggestions?

Thanks in advance,
Swar