1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Gaussian sphere problem, non uniform charge

1. Feb 10, 2014 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data
    A solid non conducting sphere of radius R=5.60 cm has a nonuniform charge ditribution ρ=(14.1 pC/m^3)r/R, where r is the radial distance from the spheres center. (a) What is the sphere's total charge? What is the magnitude E of the electric field at (b) r=0, (c) r=R/2.00, and (d) r=R? (e) Sketch a graph of E versus r.

2. Relevant equations

[itex]\Phi[/itex]= q/[itex]\epsilon[/itex][itex]_{o}[/itex]=[itex]\oint[/itex](E[itex]\cdot[/itex][itex]\hat{n}[/itex])dA

Q=[itex]\int\int\int[/itex][itex]_{v}[/itex](ρ)dV

3. The attempt at a solution

I have zero experience with triple integrals and my professor gave us a explaining. I kind of get it but I don't understand exactly how one defines the bounds of the triple integral. dV is defined in spherical coordinates.

(a) Q=[itex]\int\int\int[/itex][itex]_{v}[/itex](ρ)dV

=[itex]\int[/itex][itex]^{R}_{0}[/itex][itex]\int[/itex][itex]^{\pi}_{0}[/itex][itex]\int[/itex][itex]^{2\pi}_{0}[/itex] (14.1 pC/m^3)r/R sinθdrdθd[itex]\phi[/itex]

=(14.1 pC/m^3)/R[itex]\int[/itex][itex]^{R}_{0}[/itex]rdr[itex]\int[/itex][itex]^{\pi}_{0}[/itex] sinθdθ[itex]\int[/itex][itex]^{2\pi}_{0}[/itex]d[itex]\phi[/itex]

=(14.1 pC/m^3)/R [[itex]\frac{r^{2}}{2}[/itex]][itex]^{R}_{0}[/itex][-cosθ][itex]^{\pi}_{0}[/itex][[itex]\phi[/itex]][itex]^{2\pi}_{0}[/itex]

=(14.1 pC/m^3)/R[[itex]\frac{R^{2}}{2}[/itex]][2][2[itex]\pi[/itex]]

=(14.1 pC/m^3)R[2[itex]\pi[/itex]]

=(14.1e-15)(0.056)2[itex]\pi[/itex]

= 4.96 fC

Book says 7.78 fC

(b) e-field is zero

For part c I use 7.78 fC for Q, r=R/2

(c) [itex]\Phi[/itex]= q/[itex]\epsilon[/itex][itex]_{o}[/itex]