General Chemistry 2 for physics major?

• Programs
  • Thread starter QuarkCharmer
  • Start date
Did any of you take General Chemistry 2 as part of a physics degree? Most of my fellow students are engineers and they are only required to take Chem 1, but the physics degree lists Chem 2 as a recommended course. Either way, is this something that would prevent me from taking any third year courses that have it as a pre-req?

I am debating on dropping that class for the fall semester to pick up an intro to proof based mathematics course. (Though, I will take it later if I must).

Thanks

Answers and Replies

I'm majoring in physics and chem I and II are required.

At my uni all physics majors had to take a year-long general chem course, the 2nd semester was mostly equilibrium/thermochemistry, and in all honestly I felt like learned more (conceptual) thermodynamics there than I did in the designated 2nd year course on the subject.

What is the course content like? Do you see yourself making better use out of a math course?

Well, it's required for the degree, so I will take Chem II, (which yes, is thermochem et al). I am just not sure if not having it now, will prevent me from taking any courses. I didn't see anywhere that Chem II was a pre-req for anything, but I could have missed something. I can do Chem II whenever, but I was thinking that replacing it next semester with a proof based course would help me out in the long run.

Yea physics majors are required to take Chem 2, while us engineers only need chem 1. Which is a major thank god, because chem 2 for us is a major weed out for pre-meds. The professor who teaches it gives a million assignments and teaches very little, simmilar to my physics I prof.

I feel sorry for chem majors who need chem 2 and physics 1 lol.

Why do so many physics and engineering majors like it when the pre-meds are weeded out? :tongue2: I wonder if engineering majors like it when the physics and math majors are weeded out :biggrin: