Golf ball rolling coefficient

In summary: I then set up a 3' bar on a level surface and place the ball on top.3. I then measure the distance the ball travelled after leaving the stimpmeter.4. I call this number "green speed."5. From these green speed values, I can calculate the slope at which the ball will not stop rolling. Jerry,I think you are misunderstanding what I am trying to do. I am not trying to use this guy's equations to determine the slope at which a ball would keep rolling (when it leaves the stimpmeter). I am trying to use his equations to determine the stopping distance.
Jlemon
Hello to all.

I am a golf course designer and am researching information on the slope and the roll of a golf ball on different greens speed.

I am attempting to determine a golf ball rolling on "X" slope will not stop on "Y" surfaces(friction coefficient)

My interest is in a golf ball rolling on different speed greens (surfaces with different rolling friction coefficient) and measuring that info and then determining the slope that a ball will not stop rolling.

We use a stimpmeter now but it is primitive at best.

I intend to use this for determining the maximum slope for putting greens based on speed of greens.

A few tidbit of info:

The weight of a ball is 1.62 ounces
The stimpmeter we us to determine friction coeffient is a 3' bar raisedto a 20.5 degree slope

The distance we call "green speed" is the distance the ball travels after leaving the 3' bar on a level surface.

This Green speed number is a industry standard.

Initial work I have done in the field shows a ball will not stop rolling at differning speeds and slope and can be plotted.

I wish calculate the the graph using physics and have no way to deterime rolling friction coefficients with a golf ball. (which mustallso have a friction coefficient?)

Any one willing to advise me (remember I am a layman not educated in physics enough to know much more than what goes up must come down :)

Jerry
jlemons@comcast.net