Good mechanics text for self-study

In summary, the key concepts in good mechanics include Newton's laws of motion, work and energy, momentum, rotational motion, and gravitation. To improve understanding through self-study, use a comprehensive textbook and online resources. Recommended textbooks include "University Physics" by Young and Freedman, "Fundamentals of Physics" by Halliday and Resnick, and "Mechanics" by Kleppner and Kolenkow. Common pitfalls to avoid are not practicing enough problems and not seeking help when needed. To track progress, set goals, take practice quizzes or exams, and seek feedback from a teacher or tutor.
AndreGoran
I am in my final year of a physics degree and have taken all the undergraduate mechanics available in the department, but I don't have a really solid understanding of Lagrangian and Hamiltonian dynamics. Does anyone have a recommendation for a mechanics book which is comprehensible for self-study? If you recommend a book and can think of a math book which compliments it well please also mention that.

Physics news on Phys.org
The classical text for this is Goldstein, Classical Mechanics. If you like a more mathematical treatment, I'd recommend Arnold, Mathematical Methods of Classical Mechanics.

1. What are the key concepts in good mechanics?

The key concepts in good mechanics include Newton's laws of motion, work and energy, momentum, rotational motion, and gravitation. It is important to understand these concepts in order to solve problems and analyze physical systems.

2. How can I improve my understanding of mechanics through self-study?

One way to improve your understanding of mechanics through self-study is to use a comprehensive textbook that covers all the key concepts and provides practice problems. Additionally, watching online lectures or participating in online courses can also be helpful.

3. Are there any recommended mechanics textbooks for self-study?