Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Good news, everyone!

1. Aug 8, 2015 #1
    Hi, my name is Nathaniel. I've been a science fiction/fantasy fan for a very long time, and I enjoy imagining and speculating about scientific theories and possibilities.

I have no professional background in mathematics or astrophysics (I can almost hear you crying "God! Not another one!" :rolleyes:). In fact, I have more experience juggling dice and playing tabletop RPGs, ha. Aside from an intuitive comprehension of statistical analysis, that wouldn't do me much good here.

I joined this forum since I had a peculiar idea/concept that I'm not sure has been addressed, and was curious about peoples' insights into its feasibility/impracticality. I'll put forth my naive question in an appropriate thread rather than elaborating on it here.

Depending on the activity and responses, and how interesting subjects in your forum is, I might stick around! In the meantime, I'll try to have some fun and hopefully not give you too many migraines.

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 8, 2015 #2
  4. Aug 8, 2015 #3
    I'm afraid I don't understand. What is "generally accepted" science? Naturally I can understand that alot of the vagaries of philosophy and semantics of religion wouldn't be welcome here. Do you mean that all fringe science is taboo?

5. Aug 8, 2015 #4
    We're primarily an education community so we stick with mainstream science.

6. Aug 8, 2015 #5