Good resource on covariant/contravariant, magnetic coordinates, and jacobians?

In summary, The speaker is a student in computational plasma physics who is looking for resources to better understand magnetic field aligned coordinates. They have a system of equations that define these coordinates but find them unintuitive. They mention a scalar Jacobian, which is the determinant of the Jacobian matrix, and is used to convert between coordinate systems. The determinant describes how the volume element is affected by the transformation. The speaker also touches on the difference between contravariant and covariant components, which change differently as the coordinate system is changed. The key concept here is the Jacobian, which is used to transform vectors between coordinate systems.
chrysaetos13
First post here in PF, so forgive me if this question is in the wrong place.

I'm a student in computational plasma physics. The code I work with utilizes magnetic field aligned coordinates, and as a necessity, it is sometimes useful to convert between spatially regular coordinates (cartesian, cylindrical, toroidal, etc) to our field aligned coordinates. Although I have a system of equations which defines our magnetic coordinates, and a general idea that "magnetic field lines are straight in these coordinates" I find the coordinate system largely unintuitive.

Does anyone know of a good resource for developing intuition on complicated coordinate systems? I have always felt a little fuzzy even on the relatively simple description of covariant and contravariant coordinates provided in Jackson's E&M. In one sentence, what is the salient benefit of using these coordinates.

I also see descriptions of a scalar Jacobian, which I gather/guess is the determinant of the Jacobian matrix. Is this correct? I believe the matrix can be thought of as a way to convert between coordinate systems. Is there an intuitive, spatial way to think of what this scalar Jacobian value represents?