Graduate School (Masters in Math) Question

In summary, the person is currently in their 3rd year of university and did well in their first term, with grades ranging from A+ to B+. However, their current term is not going well and they received a failing grade on a test for a math course. They are concerned about how graduate schools will view their transcript, but it is mentioned that schools look at more than just grades. It is suggested to put in a good effort to avoid a downward trend in grades and to try to figure out why the person did not do as well as they wanted. It is also mentioned that relevant grades and trends are important for graduate school applications.
rad0786
Here is my situation;

I am currently in my 3rd year.

My first term, I had an A+ A A- and B+ in all my math courses (real analysis, advanced diff, stocastic, and modelling)

Those are okay grades, not bad.

This term, I have all math courses again (4th year real analysis, complex analysis, problem solving and 2nd numerical linear algebra)

This term isn't going so well :confused:

I got a my numerical linear algebra test back and --- FAIL .

What to grad schools look at? I mean, how do they look at your grades?

Do they look at it individually or cumulative GPA or what?

Im expecting my marks to go down the drain this year (probably a B- avg.)

I would like info on how exactly grad schools read you transcript please :smile:

Physics news on Phys.org
by the way, i never like linear algebra...i allways hated it..its awefull.

I only took it because it was an Applied Mathematics Specialization requirement.

Almost no matter what your grades are (within reason!), there will likely be a school somewhere that would accept you. One semester at a B- average isn't bad. Just put in a good effort so that the downward trend doesn't continue and you should be fine. Schools look at more than just grades. TRENDS in grades, research, extra curriculars and recommendation letters are some that come to mind.