1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Support PF! Reminder for those going back to school to buy their text books via PF Here!
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Quantum Griffiths or Zettili?

1. Dec 9, 2016 #1
    Hello all!

You'll see, I am self studying physics, and have already finished with Kleppner - Kolenkow mechanics (complemented with Morin) and Griffiths electrodynamics.

Now I think I am prepared for QM, but I do not know which textbook is better for me. I have reduced my options to Griffiths or Zettili.

1) Griffiths.
    Pros: I LOVED his electrodynamics book, like conversational textbooks, like his style (I am a teacher as well), plan to continue with griffiths intro. to elementary particles (so I guess his QM textbook is the best for it).
    Cons: Many people seem to dislike it, they say it often confuses students.

2) Zetilli.
    Pros: Many people here seem to like it, many solved problems.
    Cons: Seems to be much more advenced than Griffiths, maybe not an undergraduate or intro text (which is what I am looking for).

What do you think? Anyone of you has used both books and can tell me something?

Thanks!

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 9, 2016 #2

ShayanJ

Gold Member

Its at the right level for undergrads and I think its a better textbook than Griffiths'.

4. Dec 9, 2016 #3
    Last edited by a moderator: May 8, 2017
  5. Dec 10, 2016 #4
    If you're planning to study Griffths elementary particles, then Zetilli will prepare you better ( I kid you not ), though If you can afford it, getting both books is better than just one.

6. Dec 11, 2016 #5