Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Group representations on tensor basis.

1. Jul 19, 2011 #1
    I am a physicist, so my apologies if haven't framed the question in the proper mathematical sense.

Matrices are used as group representations. Matrices act on vectors. So in physics we use matrices to transform vectors and also to denote the symmetries of the vector space.
    v_i = Sum M_ij v_j
    Is there an equivalent group representation that act on tensors instead of vectors?
    T_ij = Sum M_iajb T_ab
    I guess then we need some group multiplication law...
    may be
    M_abcd = Sum M_axcy M_xbyd

Does this make any sense? Please provide some references where I can find more information.

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 20, 2011 #2
    Tensor representations are given by the direct (tensor) product of copies of the vector representation.

They act on the set of tensors of a given rank, which is indeed a linear vector space. These tensors are called Lorentz 4-tensors. For example, consider (2, 0) tensors, that is, tensors with two contravariant (upper) indices T^{/mu /nu).

A representation of the Lorentz group will be a 16 x 16 matrix /Lambda^{/mu /nu}_{/rho /sigma} = /Lambda^{/mu /nu}/Lambda_{/rho /sigma}.

Search for "Lorentz spinors" and the documents you find will give both the matirx version and the tensorial version of the transformations too.

4. Jul 20, 2011 #3

Fredrik

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member