Mechatronics Student Seeking Help Identifying Device - South Africa

• Thread starter scoe
  • Start date
In summary, a mechatronics student from South Africa is seeking help identifying a device used for leveling equipment. The device is adjustable and uses a bolt to increase its thickness. It is called a precision leveling wedge and is manufactured by Farrat. Four of these devices are used at each corner of a piece of machinery for accurate leveling and stability.
scoe
Hi all
I'm a second year mechatronics student in South Africa.
I'm currently doing vacation training and need a little help identifying a device.

Attached is a picture, rough dimensions:
Height: 30 - 50mm (adjustable)
Width: 120mm
Length: 170mm (fully extended vertically)

It uses a bolt (approx M10) which is tightened to pull the middle wedge between the two outer wedge, hence increasing it's thickness.
4 are used, one at each corner of a piece of machinery. They allow for accurate leveling of the equipment and are extremely sturdy.

Does anyone have an idea of the device's real name??

Thank you
Roscoe

Attachments

• hi.jpg
    hi.jpg
    17.7 KB · Views: 473
Engineering news on Phys.org
Precision leveling wedge

http://www.farrat.com/products/wedge_levelling_elements.html

I believe that is the manufacturer of the unit in the picture.

Last edited by a moderator:
Thank you so much~!

1. What is the purpose of this "Help me - What is this?" question?

The purpose of this question is to seek assistance or clarification on something that is unclear or unknown.

2. Why is it important to ask for help in understanding something?

Asking for help can provide valuable insights and understanding that may not have been possible to achieve on your own. It also helps to avoid making mistakes or assumptions based on incomplete information.

3. How can I effectively communicate my confusion or lack of understanding?