Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Hey New Member!

1. May 11, 2008 #1
    Hey everybody, I'd thought I would introduce myself:

I live in NH. I go to school in Massachusetts though. I'm an undergrad at WPI, and I am an applied math major (although I'm thinking about double majoring in physics and math). Next year I'm going to be a sophomore, and I will most certainly put in a lot more time into school (something which I should have done right from the beginning, but oh well...).

Anyways, my interests include playing chess (competitively), playing video games (also competitive in that area too), and of course science and math. I also like to read and watch science fiction.

I am what some people would call an uber nerd, but that does not bother me one bit.

As to how I found your site I actually have been a lurker for a long while. I sign up at Hypography not to long ago, but I didn't like it much; it isn't very professional and too many idiots are around. This site seems a lot better in those terms from a quick glance. Of course, I see that there are a lot of people here that know a lot more than I do about science, so don't mind me if I say something completely stupid every now and then, I'm still trying to learn this science thing....

Well, that's all there is to know about me. Hope to have fun on your forums!

2. jcsd
  3. May 11, 2008 #2

Math Is Hard

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Then you know what's coming next. Name your favorite fish...

4. May 11, 2008 #3

turbo

Gold Member

Hint: pick a little fish! Not a big one with pointy appendages, coarse skin, or spines.

5. May 11, 2008 #4
    Can I choose a guppy?

6. May 11, 2008 #5
    Why of course you can <thwit> <thwit> <thwit> {on the tip of your nose}. I must say, good choice. You were lucky I re-checked the thread, I almost pulled out the frozen 18 pound Grouper.