Hi guys I hope with your help I will be successful

• Thread starter jono240
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Hi
In summary, the conversation discusses the difficulties of explaining concepts in physics and the need for improvement in answers. The conversation also touches upon the law of conservation of momentum and the explanation of internal and external forces. The topic of using a fan to move a boat is also mentioned, with differing opinions on the explanation given. Overall, the conversation highlights the importance of clear and concise explanations in physics.
jono240
Hi guys. I'd like to make an introduction somewhere but there doesn't seem to be a forum for that here. Basically I am an older student who, despite having low grades all throughout school, always loved science. I decided to go back to adult school to upgrade my marks and then go to university for geology. I'd like to discuss geology and career paths but I will do that on the other topics on this forum.
So far I am doing alright in grade 12 physics. I've jumped into to grade 12 physics without grade 11 and its definitely harder than I thought, but of course it all depends on how much work you put into it. Everything is in the book and I've had no problem learning from that. Right now were on chapter 5 which is about the law of conservation of energy, keplers laws, planetary motion, stuff like that. I have no problems so far but when I do run into problems Il ask here.

I do however need help with communication. I have 4 questions from my last test that just need an explanation but I only got half marks for them. My teacher said that if I can give her a better explanation for these question, she will give me these marks back, plus an extra 10 marks for having corrected everything on that test. (shes really nice like that haha)
Il start with the first question
Define "internal force" and "external force" and explain how these terms relate to the law of conservation of momentum.