High leg delta/high leg heating up and tripping the breaker

• Thread starter Crazyhorse2882
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Heating
In summary, the electrician found a ground fault close to a flex connector and the current draw was high enough to trip the breaker.
Crazyhorse2882
Ok I have a question that hopefully someone can answer. I'm an electrician and I recently had a service call where a hotel had a 175 amp 3 phase breaker feeding an ac unit with 4 compressors and 2 blowers that kept tripping. I first checked all the compressors and blowers to see if they were grounded or open and all were good. I then turned on the unit and all 4 compressors ran for about an hour and then the breaker tripped. Once it tripped I felt the 3 phases and phase C which happens to be the high leg was very hot so that leg is the culprit which tripped the breaker. I amp probed all three phases while they were running and it was a little off balance. The C phase was drawing around 120 amps, B phase 115 amps and A phase 105 amps. The compressors are 7.5 hp and draw approximately 22 amps each at 240 Volts. Does anyone have any idea why this one leg could be getting hot and tripping the breaker? Could it be that the motors are wired for wye connection and the delta service is the problem? Any suggestions would be helpful. Thank you in advance

Engineering news on Phys.org
You found one of the lines to the circuit breaker was heating up? With the breaker rated at 175A, then presumably each line would be rated for something like 250A continuous current?

This is not a new installation, so it has been working happily for years? So you can conclude a fault has recently developed? I take it you didn't find or fix the fault?

I'm wondering whether that cable has a loose or corroded connector, and this is causing local resistive heating. Can you feel whether the cable in that line is heated all along its length on both sides of the breaker?