Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Highest possible AC frequency possible today?

1. Feb 16, 2015 #1
    What is the highest possible AC frequency being able to be generated. I don't care if this is usable in a circuit but as long as it can be physically made, what is the highest AC frequency possible? I've heard 70GHz was the max using an amplifier.

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 16, 2015 #2

Svein

Science Advisor

Well, if not the absolute max, you run into size trouble. At 70GHz, λ≈2.8mm on a wire. That means, of course, that λ/2≈1.4mm. Feedback is going to be very tricky...

4. Feb 16, 2015 #3
    I'm a newbie with electrical engineering, i don't see why a wavelength would cause a problem with a wire. Can you go further into detail?

5. Feb 16, 2015 #4

Svein

Science Advisor

When the signal has traveled λ/2, the phase has changed by π, which means that it has changed sign. Negative feedback has changed to positive & vice versa. Capacitive feedback from collector to base is usually negative, but after less than 2mm it turns positive - and you have an oscillator.

6. Feb 16, 2015 #5

So 2.8mm is more than 2mm? i are you saying the frequency would be zoo fast it would act as a DC current since it isn't an "Oscillator"

7. Feb 16, 2015 #6
    70GHz is low. The US was using 90GHz in gear in the early 90's

8. Feb 16, 2015 #7
    Ao i'm assuming they are in the tera hertz today?

9. Feb 16, 2015 #8

f95toli

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

It depends on what you mean by "AC". We can generate just about any frequency from DC up to gamma radiation.