How a bad instructor or education affected YOU

• Thread starter Pengwuino
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Education
In summary: The course was so dreadfully boring that I actually fell asleep in it a few times. It was only because I was an honors student and had to make up the work that I got a C in the class.In summary, this professor was terrible and did not make the class interesting or challenging.
Pengwuino
Gold Member
I think it would be beneficial to students beginning or getting towards the beginning of their college careers if we shared how bad professors or poor college careers affected our lives. Since I'm only a grad student, i can only share the former.

For example, the professor upper-division quantum professor who was too good for his students. We had a professor who was rarely at his office hours and according to some people, believed the students weren't up to his level so he wasn't obligated to put in much effort. Now QM is quite a different subject... and being able to discuss such a strange topic with a different form of math then one's use to with a professor is key, at least to me. Thankfully, I was chummy with the chair of the department and he was able to help me better understand the seemingly un-understandable!