Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

How can I see something that has no mass ?

1. Jun 12, 2014 #1
    Basically just started reading up on the theory of relativity and physics in general in the last few weeks, so I am a self confessed novice in all things science.

I have a few questions about light which I have so far been unable to find any direct answers to.

1.) If light has no mass or weight, how can I see it ?

2.) What force makes light travel forward ?

3.) Why does it always travel at a set speed ? Why is this set speed 299 792 458 m / s and not some other random number ?

I know I sound like a 3 year old asking why is the sky blue, but that is where I am at. Cheers.

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 12, 2014 #2

ZapperZ

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor
    2016 Award

There's a disconnect between "no mass" and "see". You have somehow made an a priori assumption that only objects with mass can be "seen", presumably by your naked eye. Is this true? If this is your assumption, what made you think so? What science are you using that causes you to think that only objects with mass can be detected by the human optical system?

Zz.

4. Jun 12, 2014 #3

I did make that assumption. For something to exist in the physical world, for something to be 3-dimensional, it must have a mass. I am not using any scientific theory at all to justify my question, just a 'logic' assessment in physically seeing something that apparently has not mass or weight.

In the case of light, something must 'be there' to in order for light to exist. ( Photons I believe) How can something 'be' and not have a mass ? Perhaps I am also troubled be the definition of mass.

5. Jun 12, 2014 #4