Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

How do bacteria in sauerkraut stay alive?

1. Feb 15, 2017 #1
    When I make sauerkraut after adding salt I pound the cabbage with a wooden mallet to release its juice. Then I press it hard into the jar. I was wondering how the lactobacillus that ferment the cabbage survive the pounding and pressing. Thanks.

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 16, 2017 #2

Andy Resnick

Science Advisor
    Education Advisor
    2016 Award

Bacteria will barely 'feel' the mechanical forces- maybe a tickle :) What is more disruptive is the pH, but even so, bacteria are fairly hardy. Remember, all your gut bacteria had to first survive a trip through your pH 0 stomach and then time in your duodenum- an environment that completely destroys fats, proteins, and carbohydrates.

4. Feb 16, 2017 #3
    As a layman I wonder why. If I slam my fist down hard on a counter, the bacteria between my fist and the counter most likely is still there right? Why does it not get smashed? :)

5. Feb 16, 2017 #4

Andy Resnick

Science Advisor
    Education Advisor
    2016 Award

Bacteria (and plant cells) have a rigid cell wall- granted, there are many different flavors of bacterial cell walls, but let's keep it simple for now. The bacterial cell wall can support a pressure difference of about 20 atm (http://www.textbookofbacteriology.net/structure_5.html), which translates to about 300 pounds /in^2. So, if you want to mechanically crush a bacterium, you will need to apply about 40 atm positive pressure (since the inside of the bacterium is osmotically pressurized with respect to the outside), or 600 lb/in^2: think John Goodman stomping down with stiletto heels... or maybe don't think about that :(

The cognitive dissonance here stems from the small size of bacteria- we aren't used to thinking in terms of the microscale.

6. Feb 16, 2017 #5