1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

How Do Magnets Work At an Atomic Level (Motion of Charged Bodies)?

1. Mar 27, 2012 #1
    I'm a year 12 physics student and I have a keen interest in the inner workings of a magnet.

I know that magnetic fields are created by the motion of charged bodies.
    1. Is this somehow related to the how magnets create their fields, within their structure at an atomic level?

I've heard that the magnetic fields created by magnets are associated with the "spin" of charged particles within the atoms of the magnet.
    2. What kind of magnetic fields do spinning charged bodies create in motion? When stationary?
    3. What does this have to do with the magnetic field of a magnet?

I know that each atom within a magnet acts as a microscopic dipole and these are all aligned within a magnet.
    4. So how exactly do these atoms act as dipoles?
    5. How are the charged bodies within a magnet's atomic structure moving when these dipoles are said to be "aligned"?

I know that there is some quantum physics involved in understanding these but I will try my best to interpret any answers I'm given, so please don't hold back. Thank you.

Last edited: Mar 27, 2012
  2. jcsd
  3. Mar 27, 2012 #2

K^2

Science Advisor