How does number density relate to probabilty density

• I
  • Thread starter thegirl
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Density
In summary, the conversation discusses the relationship between number density and probability density in particle physics. The Lorentz invariant phase space factor is defined as the probability density of a free relativistic particle, while the Lorentz invariant number density is calculated using the momentum and probability density of the particle. The question also explores the possibility of the probability density being a distribution function and how it relates to the wave function in non-relativistic quantum theory.
thegirl
I was just wondering how number density relates to probability density in general, within particle physics?

Thank you!

Physics news on Phys.org
This question is way too vague.

Khashishi said:
This question is way too vague.
I'm currently studying particle physics and when talking about the lorentz invariant phase space factor in the notes it starts off with the probability density of a free relativistic particle being p=2E|N|^2 and then goes on to say the lorentz invariant number density becomes dn=d^3r/(2pi)^3p where r is the momentum of the particle and p the probability density. I was just wondering why the probability density is included within the number density formula and how it related to the number density. The number density formula was derived from a single particle in a quantised box.

are you sure p is probability density? I thought it was a distribution function ... giving the occupation within a volume in the 6D phase space (3 momenta and 3 positions). Such that the integral you have written [itex]N = \int n \diff^3x = \int \frac{\diff^3 p}{(2 \pi)^3} f(p) [/itex]
1. you already wrote how they are related...

ChrisVer said: