How software defined radio differs from traditional one

In summary, Lee explains that digital radio processing can vary depending on the ADC and DAC used. He also mentions that digital radio uses DSP to perform various tasks such as signal processing and modulation.
davidcopper
Hi, all.

Im new to telecommunication field. I have a few questions. Hope you can help me.

First, I am not clear how digital signal processing works. My understanding is: baseband frequency is modulated as high frequency on a device. Such device sends the signal to another device, which demodulates the high frequency to baseband for processing.

My first question is: where do ADC and DAC normally happen in this process?

Regarding software defined radio, my understanding is: SDR differs from traditional digital signal processing in that demodulated basedband frequency is processed by software rather than specific circuits. Is it right?

Please point out errors in my understanding. Thank you for what you may do for me.

Kind ragards

Lee

Engineering news on Phys.org
Hi, NoTime.

Thanks for the info. Hm... it does not describe how to transform analog signal into digital one in details.

But thank you still for the info.

Waiting for someone to clarify my confusion. Any advice will be appreciated. :)

A software defined radio does NOT necessarily use the traditional digital modulation schemes (FSK, PSK, etc.) A software defined receiver by my understanding directly digitizes the IF and using DSP in some sort of microprocessor comes with the end result. The software defined transmitter does the same thing in reverse. Analog mixers and modulators are all but eliminated. davidcopper, I think you are simply looking for an explanation of a/d and d/a convertors.

Averagesupernova said: