1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

How to calculate time to change the temperature of metal

1. Nov 7, 2016 #1
    So I'm looking to calculate the time required to raise the temperature of a piece of lead. What I know so far: Mass of metal: 4 grams
    Initial temperature: 250 degrees Celsius
    Final temperature: 350 degrees Celsius
    Specific heat of lead: 0.13 kj/kg
    I'm very new to thermodynamics and don't know if this will be a simple equation or a complex one, but my current math understanding rests in pre-calculus. If there are any missing variables let me know, but I'd like to figure out how long it would take to heat up the mass of lead (I know it will go through a phase change) at a given temperature. Any help is greatly appreciated.

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 7, 2016 #2

Baluncore

Science Advisor

How much energy is needed to heat the metal to the mp, melt the lead at 327.5 °C, then heat the liquid lead to 350 °C ?
    How will you deliver the heat to the lead? How fast can you get heat into the lead?

4. Nov 7, 2016 #3
    Is it correct that to find the energy needed to heat the lead through the process can be found by Qf=Q1+Q2+Q3 when Q1=mass*change in temperature from 250 to 327.5(melting point)*Cp of lead, Q2= mass* latent heat of lead, and Q3=mass* change in temperature from 327.5 to 350(Cp of lead? If not, how do you find out the required energy. I am trying to determine the method of heating between radiation, Joule heating, or another form of non conductive heating. I do not know of a way to determine how fast heat can be "absorbed" (for lack of a better term) by the lead.

5. Nov 7, 2016 #4

Baluncore

Science Advisor

Yes, Qf=Q1+Q2+Q3 is the right approach.