• Support PF! Buy your school textbooks, materials and every day products via PF Here!

How to study Mechanics, and what after it?

• Thread starter Sebastian_
  • Start date
Summary: (TL;DNR) What subject should I study next in the realm of physics, considering Im a beginner

Hello Im visiting this forum because as a young kid that is trying to learn physics without a proper teacher Im quite lost. Not as in I dont understand the material, its more so I dont know what to study next.

You see Ive been reading about physiscs for about two weeks now and Ive already gotten pretty deep into projectile motion, I can solve most of these kinds of problems with relative ease, but now that Ive exhausted this area of mechanics I dont know what to do with myself.

Today Im planning of introducing myself to basic calculus but aside from that I have no real direction know. Simply put I just wanted to ask, where should I go after projectile motion? Whats a good subject in physics to learn next for a beginner.

Last edited by a moderator:

PhanthomJay

Science Advisor
Homework Helper
Gold Member
You haven’t exhausted Mechanics in 2 weeks. Projectile motion , and vectors , and the motion equations for acceleration velocity and distance, which I assume you have mastered, are just the beginning. You need to study forces and energy and work and momentum and friction and free body diagrams and inclined plan s and the list goes on, Are you self teaching yourself? What grade level are you at?
You can study calculus separately if you want, but no higher physics yet.

Thanks for the reply, to answer your questions, yes I am self teaching myself with help from this forum and I will be a ninth grader in about two days time.

So, youre saying I should expand upon mechanics by learning forces, energy, work, momentum, and friction aswell as free body diagrams and inclines planes? Because that's a pretty good to do list that Id be happy to follow.

symbolipoint

Homework Helper
Education Advisor