Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

How to tell if a transformer is wye or delta

1. Jan 10, 2013 #1
    I'm going through a list of 12 transformers and trying to determine if they are wye or delta. The schematics I have come across are for power engineering and don't go into too much detail other than the following:

The transformers step down ~400V 60Hz AC (three-phase) to ~120V 60Hz AC (single or three-phase) with one of the two schematic configurations:

1 - http://s8.postimage.org/66olvudat/transformer.png
    2 - http://s8.postimage.org/edglnf3dh/transformer_4.png

I'm familiar with the first schematic drawing with two circles however this is my first time seeing four circles to represent a transformer; any ideas?

Thanks!

Last edited: Jan 10, 2013
  2. jcsd
  3. Jan 10, 2013 #2

Last edited by a moderator: Sep 25, 2014
  4. Jan 10, 2013 #3
    How can 3 phase transformer step down voltage to single phase voltage?
    3 phase transformer steps down 3 phase voltage to 3 phase voltage, the connection may be different between the primary and the secondary.

First you have to be sure that the transformer is 3 phase transformer.
    Else if i didn't understand your point please correct for me what do you mean 440 v three phase to 24 v single phase.

I think the four circles means that:
    First circle -> input winding
    The other 3 circles means there are 3 different outputs the transformer can give.

Do you have transformers and want to know there connections or you just have a schematic and want to know the connections?

5. Jan 10, 2013 #4
    Very easily, there are several ways.

The 'step down' bit refers to the change of voltage magnitude.

Plucking a single phase froma multiphase transformer involves
    either a single winding (which has two ends and therefore a single phase)