1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Hydrogen atom:<K>,<V>,momentum distribution

1. Mar 18, 2008 #1
    Hello to everybody! This is my first time in PF. I have problems with an QM exercise.

1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data
    About hydrogen atom in the ground state (n=1), evaluate:
    <K>, <V> (expectation value of the kinetic energy and potential energy) and the momentum distribution ([tex]\varphi[/tex](p)).

3. The attempt at a solution

for now I treat only <K>:
    see attachment 009 (<K>=<T>=kinetic energy)
    but i know the exact solution so that I evaluate is not right.
    where is my mistake??

please help me.

thanks

Attached Files:

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 19, 2008 #2
    okay. maybe my attachment is not readble.

the wave function for the hydrogen atom in 1s state is:= [tex]\varphi(r)=\frac{exp(-r/a)}{\sqrt{\pi a^3}}[/tex]

where:

a is the Bohr radius := [tex]a=\frac{\hbar^2}{m e^2}[/tex] ;
    m is the electron mass ;
    [tex]e=\frac{q^2}{4\pi\epsilon}[/tex] ;
    q is the elementary charge ;

now:

to find <K> (expectation value of kinetic energy) I have to evaluate:

[tex]\int \frac{p^2}{2m}\left|\varphi(r)\right|^2 r^2 sin\vartheta d\vartheta d\phi dr[/tex] from 0 to infinity

i.e. = [tex]\frac{(-i\hbar)^2}{2m\pi a^3} \int \partial^{2}/\partial r^{2}[exp(-2r/a)] r^2 sin\vartheta dr d\vartheta d\phi = \frac{(-i\hbar)^2}{2m\pi a^3} 4 \pi \int \frac{4r^2}{a^2} exp(-2r/a) dr = \frac{(-i\hbar)^2}{2m\pi a^3} 4 \pi a = \frac{(-2i\hbar)^2}{m a^2} = \frac{-2 \hbar^2 m^2 e^4}{m \hbar^4} = \frac{-2me^4}{\hbar^2} [/tex]

but the exact solutions found on Basdevant or Sakurai is:= [tex]K=\frac{+me^4}{2 \hbar^2} [/tex]

so...where is my mistake??
    please, help me to find it!!

4. Mar 19, 2008 #3

clem

Science Advisor