Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Homework Help: Hydrogen atom:<K>,<V>,momentum distribution

1. Mar 18, 2008 #1
    Hello to everybody! This is my first time in PF. I have problems with an QM exercise.

1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data
    About hydrogen atom in the ground state (n=1), evaluate:
    <K>, <V> (expectation value of the kinetic energy and potential energy) and the momentum distribution ([tex]\varphi[/tex](p)).

3. The attempt at a solution

for now I treat only <K>:
    see attachment 009 (<K>=<T>=kinetic energy)
    but i know the exact solution so that I evaluate is not right.
    where is my mistake??

please help me.

thanks

Attached Files:

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 19, 2008 #2
    okay. maybe my attachment is not readble.

the wave function for the hydrogen atom in 1s state is:= [tex]\varphi(r)=\frac{exp(-r/a)}{\sqrt{\pi a^3}}[/tex]

where:

a is the Bohr radius := [tex]a=\frac{\hbar^2}{m e^2}[/tex] ;
    m is the electron mass ;
    [tex]e=\frac{q^2}{4\pi\epsilon}[/tex] ;
    q is the elementary charge ;

now:

to find <K> (expectation value of kinetic energy) I have to evaluate:

[tex]\int \frac{p^2}{2m}\left|\varphi(r)\right|^2 r^2 sin\vartheta d\vartheta d\phi dr[/tex] from 0 to infinity

i.e. = [tex]\frac{(-i\hbar)^2}{2m\pi a^3} \int \partial^{2}/\partial r^{2}[exp(-2r/a)] r^2 sin\vartheta dr d\vartheta d\phi = \frac{(-i\hbar)^2}{2m\pi a^3} 4 \pi \int \frac{4r^2}{a^2} exp(-2r/a) dr = \frac{(-i\hbar)^2}{2m\pi a^3} 4 \pi a = \frac{(-2i\hbar)^2}{m a^2} = \frac{-2 \hbar^2 m^2 e^4}{m \hbar^4} = \frac{-2me^4}{\hbar^2} [/tex]

but the exact solutions found on Basdevant or Sakurai is:= [tex]K=\frac{+me^4}{2 \hbar^2} [/tex]

so...where is my mistake??
    please, help me to find it!!

4. Mar 19, 2008 #3

clem

Science Advisor

[tex]\nabla^2[/tex] is not [tex]\partial^2/\partial r^2[/tex] in spherical coordinates.