Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Hydrogen sulphide question

1. Jul 13, 2011 #1
    Hi, my name is Remi, I'm a game developer from Harvester Games. I have an important question regarding hydrogen sulphide. Do not worry- I am not planning to commit suicide with it, but I need it for a puzzle in my new game, The Cat Lady.

At some point in the game the game's protagonist is required to combine two household chemicals to kill a man who kidnapped her. There is a whole theme in the game regarding famous japanese suicide method and that's why she knows how to make it. From my research I've found that it can be made by combining bleach and pesticide... but I'm not sure it's ethical to give players a recipe for death like that... Is it?... Anyway, I thought I'd swap pesticide for a different ingredient, something that in real life wouldn't kill anyone. But which ingredient could it be, to make it look like a "believable lie"? What I'm after is what Stephen King did with his fictional painkillers that Paul SHeldon was being fed by Ann in Misery. A made up recipe which is harmless, yet not completely out of this world and laughable ( like bleach + strawberry jam for instance... that's just stupid..;))

I'd appreciate suggestions from you guys, since my chemical knowledge is minimal.

Thanks!

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 13, 2011 #2

tiny-tim

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

Welcome to PF!

Hi Remi! Welcome to PF! :smile:
    How about using an allergy?

eg she discovers he is allergic to peanuts, and she manages to make peanut oil from ingredients she finds in the … erm :rolleyes:

ooh, you're the writer! :biggrin:

4. Jul 13, 2011 #3
    No, I'm afraid it's got to be gas poisoning to fit with the over-arching stryline... She sneaks behind the killer unnoticed and mixes the chemicals... So, I guess if anyone has other ideas?