1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

I am a high school student that will be doing research for a class next year

1. Apr 24, 2010 #1
    I love physics, especially particle and astronomical physics, and for my intel research class which I will be taking next year, I would like to study them more. For this class, I need to choose a topic of study to which the answer is unknown or poorly understood and "play scientist" for a year. Unfortunately, considering that this is high school, experimentation will not be easy in these fields, so I am having a problem choosing a subject that will be cheap and easy to test, so I need advice. What should my field of research be? thanks in advance.

2. jcsd
  3. Apr 24, 2010 #2
    Are there any nearby universities? Some university's will have research opportunities for high schools students that excel in a particular field.

4. Apr 24, 2010 #3
    There are, however the nearest universities are all sub-par and I had spoken to some representatives. They do not offer courses to high school students in any science at all.

5. Apr 24, 2010 #4
    So look at the various professors at the school, see if any of them are doing research that interests you, and call up and ask if they're willing to take you on. My school doesn't have formal programs, but we usually have high school kids floating around, especially in the summer, doing research for the intel STS.

6. Apr 24, 2010 #5

eri