Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

I am a non scientist and would like to know easiest way

1. Dec 4, 2014 #1
    to dissolve a plant, that has outgrown the crystal decanter that it is in and is rootbound. I have cut the plant and will reroot it. but now I would like to have my decanter back. is there a safe way for me to do this?

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 4, 2014 #2

Doug Huffman

Gold Member

Yes, simple decomposition - rot. Wet the decanter contents, keep it warm and out of sight. When the decomposition is complete then rinse the residue away.

4. Dec 4, 2014 #3
    thank you, I will try that but was hoping that there would be something that would work a lot faster, possibly some sort of safe chemical that would speed up the process

5. Dec 4, 2014 #4

Doug Huffman

Gold Member

What do you consider safe for you and for your crystal? NaOH/lye/caustic soda is used in food preparation - lutefisk - but is also considered an NFPA 3 health hazard.

6. Dec 4, 2014 #5
    from what I am reading, I should use a large container with a wide mouth - to prevent the fountain effect, but that's not possible- the opening is the size of a wine cork.
    then I read to use cool water, add the flakes at little at a time and then stir. but I am unable to stir because everything is jammed in there.
    so probably should not be trying this at home- was hoping for another safer chemical to try

7. Dec 4, 2014 #6

Borek

Staff: Mentor

I don't know how the crystal will react to caustic solution. Some kinds of glass can be etched by alkali and become dull.

8. Dec 4, 2014 #7
    thanks for jumping in. would you have any suggestions?

9. Dec 4, 2014 #8

jim mcnamara

Consider:
    If you use a powdered chemical (or flakes), dissolve the stuff in a small amount of water first. Doug's idea about organic material is spot on.