I cannot find enough referees to vouch for me I might not get accepted

• Thread starter flyingpig
  • Start date
In summary, the individual is a high school student applying to a university, but is concerned about not meeting the academic requirements and needing to submit a supplemental application. However, the individual is struggling to find suitable referees, with most of their achievements being deemed as "lame" and their job as a librarian unable to provide a reference due to privacy concerns. The individual is seeking advice on what to do and is considering asking a teacher for a reference, but is unsure if they will be able to vouch for them effectively.
flyingpig
I cannot find enough referees to vouch for me! I might not get accepted

Here is the problem, I am a high school student applying to a university.

The problem is I do not think my grades will make the cutoff and I need to submit a supplemental application.

I have a few problems.

1. Most of my achievements are really lame; in one section, I put down list of achievements as being a Top Contributor on Yahoo! Answers.

As for voluntary experiences, I worked as a librarian, but I cannot get the librarian to vouch for me because he is uncomfortable with giving out his phone for whatever the reason.

The other achievements I have is that I will be taking 5 heavy load AP Exams in May and I will be concurrently studying Calculus III as a high school student.

What can I do? In case you are wondering this is University of British Columbia (Canada)

Physics news on Phys.org

Supplemental applications are in general a hard sell. You're safest bet is to apply to other schools with lower cut offs, if you are determined to stay in BC try SFU or UVic they may be easier to get into.

Can't you ask your teachers for references? They likely know you a little better than you think.