1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

I feel bad I can't understand the most simple of algebra

1. May 31, 2009 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data
    First, let me tell you a bit about myself. I did not do well in geometry and math in middle school, I was terrible at it. At high school, something changed and I took Algebra I. I was getting B's to high A's. I got awarded the rotary club award for student of the month, because of my grades at the time. I had alot of problems in school with learning problems, so I decided to graduate from a charter school. I graduated and have been taking a long break, many years, I'd say at least 4 or 5 persuing other interests. I recently started some training in basic computer skills such as excel, powerpoint and word and am starting my internship this monday, 10 weeks, 2 hours a day, 2 days a week. After that I plan to get a job with basic clerical computer work, and study and go to college on the side with a pale grant. I have always enjoyed math immensly, and I got the book "calculus for dummies" and read it from cover to cover. The main thing was I could not do most of it like basic limits because I never learned how to factor.

I also skipped geometry and trigonmetry, as I just wanted to read out of pleasure. I enjoy reading about mathematics and solving problems. Recently when I was at computer school I picked up a GED book on factoring, hoping to finally learn it. I reviewed some algebra I hadn't done for years, and managed to get the factoring questions right. Needless to say I was happy with that. The main thing, I found out, was to find the greatest common factor of the terms and put that on the outside of the formula, then ask myself that number times "what" equals the outcome.