I like pure mathematics AND physics. Help?

In summary: There are some branches of physics that rely heavily on pure math, such as high energy physics and condensed matter. It's possible to do a PhD in theoretical physics with a mathematics background, although it may be helpful to also have some background in physics. In the UK, there are universities that offer master's courses in this type of thing, which can serve as a stepping stone for those with backgrounds in either math or physics. Overall, having a strong understanding of both math and physics can greatly benefit in the study of theoretical physics.
Alea iacta est
I'm in my last year of school and starting a mathematics degree at a British university this Autumn. I've always liked mathematics, especially 'pure' side of mathematics. I love poofs and always enjoyed solving puzzles and brainteasers for fun. Some of my favourite topics of maths are geometry (especially plane Euclidean geometry), sets/logic and probability/combinatorics.

I've also always liked physics. I'm doing Physics A-Level and I especially loved electric & magnetic fields chapter and special relativity chapter (which doesn't go into much detail unfortunately). However, mechanics has not grabbed my attention so far. Maybe it will get more interesting at university? This seems a bit strange because many people who like both maths and physics seem to like mechanics. My friends assume that I like mechanics because they know how much I like maths, which is funny because for me, it's the least interesting topic in physics A-Level.