Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

I need a VHDL guru and a GAL guru

1. Nov 24, 2006 #1
    This is my first time trying to program a GAL22V10 w/ VHDL and I'm having troubles. I'm trying to make a password system with a storing mode and a testing mode, and LEDs to tell you which mode you're in. The user inputs are a reset switch, a test-mode switch, and store-mode switch, 3 switches to represent your password, and an enter button. There's also a time-out input which will take you out of your mode if you take too long to do anything (called "16 count"). The outputs are 3 LEDs, a "Wrong" pin, and a "Correct" pin.

I've attached a block diagram of how I want the processes to work. The code is also attached because it's hard to read on as posted

The problem is I think one GAL should be enough to execute this, as it has enough inputs, outputs and flip-flops, yet the only way I could get it to fit is to use a GAL for EACH process (total of 3). Why is this, and what can I do about it?

Now for some Code:

Architecture PasswordSystem of GAL is
    signal memory: std_logic_vector(2 downto 0);
    signal test_mode: std_logic;
    signal store_mode: std_logic;
    signal password_attempted: std_logic;
    signal password_set: std_logic;

begin

Mode: Process (test_input, store_input, sixteen_count, password_attempted, password_set, reset)
    begin
    if (reset = '1' or sixteen_count = '0' or password_attempted = '1' or password_set = '1') then
    test_mode <= '0';
    store_mode <= '0';
    elsif (store_input = '1' and test_input = '0') then
    test_mode <= '0';
    store_mode <= '1';
    elsif (store_input = '0' and test_input = '1') then
    test_mode <= '1';
    store_mode <= '0';
    end if;
    end process;

testingLED <= test_mode;
    storingLED <= store_mode;
    ten_secondsLED <= store_mode or test_mode;

Store: Process (enter, reset)
    begin